Skip to Content


MDS makes every effort to publish accurate information on the website. "Google Translate" is provided as a free tool for visitors to read content in one's native language. Translations are not guaranteed to be 100% accurate. Neither MDS nor its employees assume liability for erroneous translations of website content.

Main Content

MDS Public Service Award Nominations

For individuals or organizations that have made an exceptional impact in Movement Disorder advocacy or awareness

2024 nomination deadline: April 15, 2024

The MDS Public Service Award recognizes individuals or organizations that exhibit the highest standard of excellence, dedication, and accomplishment through increased advocacy and/or awareness of the field of Movement Disorders over a sustained period of time. These contributions may be in a wide variety of areas, including increasing public awareness of the mission of the Society and the promotion of research, education, and training in Movement Disorders and related neurological sciences.

The 2024 recipient will be presented and celebrated during the Opening Ceremony of the International Congress in Philadelphia, PA, USA.



Awardees are selected from all levels of public service; however, given the international nature of the Society, emphasis is placed on important far-reaching contributions and impact.

The individual should exhibit or have accomplished one or more of the following within the field of Movement Disorders: 

  • Increasing public understanding of the processes of science through scientific discovery, innovation, and its communication to the public
  • Fostered awareness among broad segments of the population
  • Achieved recognition outside of the candidate’s area of specialization
  • Influenced and encouraged the next generation of clinicians and scientists
  • Improved the well-being of patients suffering from Movement Disorders

Previous Honorees

  • 2023 - Ginger Irvine, for her work on behalf Advocacy for Neuroacanthocytosis Patients (NA Advocacy), in London, United Kingdom
  • 2011 - Michael J. Fox, for his advocacy and founding of the Michael J. Fox Foundation. 

Submit a nomination:

The award finalist will be contacted and invited by the MDS Secretariat directly. 

We use cookies to give you the best possible experience with our website. These cookies are also used to ensure we show you content that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies to improve your user experience. You can click the cookie settings link on our website to change your cookie settings at any time. Note: The MDS site uses related multiple domains, including and This cookie policy only covers the primary and domain. Please refer to the MDS Privacy Policy for information on how to configure cookies for all other domains on the MDS site.
Cookie PolicyPrivacy Notice